down
down

Team

Bettina Hayn

Childhood and education

Born in Erlangen in 1978, Bettina Hayn began taking violin lessons at the age of five and learnt piano at the age of eight. In Hildesheim, where she later grew up, she attended a grammar school with a special emphasis on music and very early on developed a serious interest in art and music. After graduation, she went on to study musicology and art history in Cologne. Bettina Hayn completed her training as a violin maker at the renowned Newark School of Violin Making in England, where she became acquainted with Ragnar.

Already during this period of her training, she was enthusiastically focused on the manufacture of historic varnishes as well as the pigments necessary for their production. After completing her apprenticeship, she spent three years working in various workshops in Freiburg and Berlin. This offered her the opportunity to gain experience in working on high-quality antique string instruments. Bettina Hayn is also employed by the Musical Instrument Museum of the Preussischer Kulturbesitz (Prussian Cultural Heritage Foundation) in Berlin.

Expert and trusted confidant

Bettina is Ragnar Hayn’s closest associate and critic with respect to all professional decisions. In the workshop, Bettina Hayn is primarily responsible for varnishing the instruments and also works on continually enhancing the materials and ingredients used in making the varnishes. In addition, she works with Ragnar in carrying out sound adjustment on the instruments.

Along with Ragnar Hayn, she is an important contact person for musicians seeking to purchase an instrument.


Sam Brouwer

Sam Brouwer was born and raised in Holland. He also graduated from Newark, has lived in Berlin since 2015, and is currently working in Ragnar Hayn’s workshop.


Mathieu Fourrier

Mathieu Fourrier was born and raised in France. He received his training as a violin maker in Newark. Mathieu Fourrier has been working in Ragnar Hayn’s workshop in Berlin since 2017.

 

HJK

down
down

Team

Bettina Hayn

Kindheit und Ausbildung

Bettina Hayn, 1978 in Erlangen geboren, bekam mit fünf Jahren ihren ersten Geigenunterricht und erlernte mit acht Jahren das Klavierspielen. In Hildesheim, wo sie später aufwuchs, besuchte sie ein musikbetontes Gymnasium und begann, sich sehr früh für Kunst und Musik zu interessieren. Nach Abschluss der Schule studierte sie zunächst Musikwissenschaften und Kunstgeschichte in Köln. Ihre Ausbildung zur Geigenbauerin absolvierte Bettina Hayn an der renommierten Newark School of Violin Making in England, wo sie Ragnar kennenlernte.

Bereits in dieser Zeit begeisterte sie sich für die Herstellung historischer Lacke und die für die Lackierung notwendigen Pigmente. Nach dem Abschluss ihrer Ausbildung arbeitete sie zunächst drei Jahre in verschiedenen Werkstätten in Freiburg und Berlin. Dort erhielt sie die Möglichkeit, Erfahrungen mit hochwertigen antiken Streichinstrumenten zu sammeln. Außerdem war Bettina Hayn am Musikinstrumentenmuseum des Preußischen Kulturbesitzes in Berlin tätig.

Expertin und engste Vertraute

Bezüglich aller fachlichen Entscheidungen ist sie die engste Vertraute und Kritikerin von Ragnar Hayn. In der Werkstatt beschäftigt sich Bettina Hayn vor allem mit der Lackierung der Instrumente und arbeitet an der Weiterentwicklung der dafür benötigten Materialien und Ingredienzen. Des Weiteren stellt sie zusammen mit Ragnar die Instrumente klanglich ein.

Sie ist neben Ragnar Hayn ein wichtiger Ansprechpartner für die Musiker, wenn es um den Verkauf der Instrumente geht.


Sam Brouwer

Sam Brouwer wurde in Holland geboren und verbrachte dort auch seine Kindheit. Auch er machte seinen Abschluss in Newark. Seit 2015 lebt er in Berlin und arbeitet in der Werkstatt Ragnar Hayns.


Mathieu Fourrier

Mathieu Fourrier wurde in Frankreich geboren und wuchs auch dort auf. Seine Ausbildung zum Geigenbauer erhielt er in Newark. Seit 2017 arbeitet Mathieu Fourrier in der Berliner Werkstatt von Ragnar Hayn.

HJK