down
down

Ragnar Hayn

Childhood and education

Ragnar Hayn was born in Berlin-Wilmersdorf in 1978 and attended a grammar school with a special emphasis on music, located in Hamburg-Blankenese. He grew up in a family of artists, sculptors and ballet dancers, began taking piano lessons at the age of six, and started playing the cello when he was ten.

At the age of 12, he took up a serious interest in violin making—and made his first instrument.

Foto Ragnar Hayn 1995

Hamburg-Rissen, 1995

Foto Ragnar Hayn 1995

Hamburg-Rissen, 1995

During the summer holidays at the age of 16, Ragnar completed an internship in Mittenwald, a Bavarian town with a long history in the manufacture of violins, violas and celli. He continued to work on new instruments in the years to follow, so that by the time his training started, he had already made a complete string quartet.

Dedicated to learning the trade professionally, he studied at the renowned Newark School of Violin Making in England from 1998 to 2001. At the end of his training, he took part in international competitions to much success. Hayn completed his final examinations and earned a distinction for outstanding achievements.

Ragnar Hayn returned to Berlin soon after, devoting four years to studying the restoration of historic stringed instruments. He embraced this opportunity to explore and become deeply knowledgeable of the style and material aspects of high-quality historic instruments. The insights and valuable experience gained in the process would later be incorporated into his craftsmanship.

Foto Ragnar Hayn Hamburg 1998

Hamburg 1998

Establishment of his own workshop

In 2005, Ragnar Hayn founded his own workshop in Berlin. In the following years he also won numerous awards at international competitions.

His commitment is focused on developing a highly diverse variety of models, exploring a broad range of bodies and exploring the individual qualities of the different past Italian masters—be it Stradivari, Goffriller, Montagnana or del Gesù. He works in continuous collaboration with experienced artists who typically have years of concert experience playing historic Italian instruments.

Ragnar Hayn has made 160 instruments—including 50 celli—and can take pleasure in knowing that numerous excellent musicians perform using his instruments.

Quality commitment

Ragnar Hayn concentrates on the three-dimensionality of sound and how sound is carried in the concert hall. The nature of the tonewood is crucial in this regard, which is why Hayn is always searching for materials possessing the very best quality, as the latter is the basis for excellent sound.

The sound an instrument makes, however, depends just as much on the musician who plays it. The body of the instrument has to suit the musician playing it. Ragnar Hayn thus develops a unique concept drawing on in-depth conversations with the artist, ultimately resulting in the manufacturing of an instrument that fits the musician like a tailor-made suit.

Ragnar Hayn attaches great importance to the fact that he personally carries out the most acoustically important and stylistically decisive work on every instrument. Each individual instrument thus bears his signature, marking a guarantee of consistently high quality.


Manchester International Cello Festival (www.cellofestival.co.uk)
  • 2001 Cello, Merit
  • 2007 Cello, Gold
Internationaler Geigenbauwettbewerb – Mittenwald
  • 2001 Violine, Bronze
  • 2005 Viola, Bronze
  • 2010 Viola, Bronze
BVMA International Violin and Bow Making Competition – London
  • 2004 Violine, Besondere Auszeichnung
HJK

down
down

Ragnar Hayn

Kindheit und Ausbildung

Ragnar Hayn wurde 1978 in Berlin-Wilmersdorf geboren und besuchte ein musikbetontes Gymnasium in Hamburg-Blankenese. Er wuchs in einer Familie von Künstlern, Bildhauern und Balletttänzern auf, bekam ab dem sechsten Lebensjahr Klavierunterricht und er bekam ab dem zehnten Lebensjahr Cellounterricht.

Schon mit zwölf Jahren begann er, sich ernsthaft für Geigenbau zu interessieren und baute sein erstes eigenes Instrument.

Foto Ragnar Hayn 1995

Hamburg-Rissen, 1995

Foto Ragnar Hayn 1995

Hamburg-Rissen, 1995

Im Alter von 16 Jahren absolvierte Ragnar Hayn während der Sommerferien ein Praktikum in Mittenwald, einer bayrischen Stadt mit einer langen Tradition im Geigen- und Cellobau. Er arbeitete während der folgenden Jahre an neuen Instrumenten, sodass er bereits vor Beginn seiner Ausbildung ein vollständiges Streichquartett erschaffen hat.

In den Jahren 1998 bis 2001 besuchte er die renommierte Newark School of Violin Making in England, um das Handwerk professionell zu erlernen. Zum Ende seiner Ausbildung bestritt er erfolgreich internationale Wettbewerbe. Er bestand die Abschlussprüfung mit Auszeichnung für herausragende Leistungen.

Ragnar Hayn ging bald zurück nach Berlin, um dort vier Jahre lang die Restaurierung historischer Streichinstrumente zu lernen. Während dieser Zeit erhielt er die Möglichkeit, sich intensiv mit dem Stil und der materiellen Beschaffenheit hochwertiger alter Instrumente zu beschäftigen – diese wertvollen Erfahrungen sollten später in seine Handwerkskunst einfließen.

Foto Ragnar Hayn Hamburg 1998

Hamburg 1998

Gründung einer eigenen Werkstatt

2005 gründete Ragnar Hayn seine eigene Werkstatt in Berlin. Auch in den folgenden Jahren erhielt er zahlreiche Auszeichnungen bei internationalen Wettbewerben.

Er entwickelt unterschiedlichste Modelle, erforscht die Vielfalt des Klangkörpers und die ganz individuellen Vorzüge der verschiedenen alten italienischen Meister – sei es Stradivari, Goffriller, Montagnana oder del Gesù. Dabei arbeitet er stets eng mit erfahrenen Künstlern zusammen, die eine meist langjährige Konzerterfahrung mit alten italienischen Instrumente mitbringen.

Ragnar Hayn hat mittlerweile 160 Instrumente gebaut – davon 50 Celli – und kann sich darüber freuen, dass zahlreiche exzellente Musiker auf seinen Instrumenten konzertieren.

Qualitätsanspruch

Ragnar Hayn konzentriert sich insbesondere auf die Tragfähigkeit und die Dreidimensionalität des Klanges im Konzertsaal. Dabei kommt dem Klangholz eine ganz besondere Bedeutung zu, weshalb er sich immer wieder auf die Suche nach Materialien von allerbester Qualität macht – die Grundlage für ausgezeichneten Klang.

Doch kein Instrument entfaltet seinen Klang ohne den Musiker, der es spielt. Diese Beziehung zwischen Klangkörper und Mensch muss passen, weshalb Ragnar Hayn in langen Gesprächen ein ganz persönliches Konzept entwirft, damit das Instrument dem jeweiligen Musiker wie ein maßgeschneiderter Anzug passt.

Ragnar Hayn legt großen Wert darauf, dass die klanglich wichtigen und stilistisch entscheidenden Arbeiten an jedem Instrument von ihm persönlich durchgeführt werden. So trägt jedes einzelne Instrument seine eigene Handschrift, die eine stets hohe Qualität garantiert.


Manchester International Cello Festival (www.cellofestival.co.uk)
  • 2001 Cello, Merit
  • 2007 Cello, Gold
Internationaler Geigenbauwettbewerb – Mittenwald
  • 2001 Violine, Bronze
  • 2005 Viola, Bronze
  • 2010 Viola, Bronze
BVMA International Violin and Bow Making Competition – London
  • 2004 Violine, Besondere Auszeichnung
HJK